Play is a child’s work. Children learn best when they are happy. At Nursery we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum which is organised under 4 themes.

They are:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

There are 7 areas of learning:

  • Personal Social and Emotional development
  • Communication and language
  • hysical Development
  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

For more information click on these links to the Early Years Foundation Stage Guidance and outcomes:

Children take part in individual and group activities. Most time is spent on child initiated learning which allows children to follow their interests. The staff create Learning Journeys which document the child’s development and are shared during the year with both children and parents/carers.
They also carry out assessments on your child to enable them to deliver an appropriate curriculum.
The main assessments will be on Communication and Language, Personal, Social and Emotional development and Physical development.

Some activities your child will be accessing:

  • Stories and Rhymes
  • Sand/Water
  • Imaginative Play
  • Creative
  • Dance Activities
  • Environmental Visits
  • Music
  • Outdoor Activities
  • Maths
  • Celebrations
  • Investigation
  • Discovery

The children are encouraged to be independent, to make choices, to respect themselves and others and to care for the world around them.


To Top